Gexa Energy Learning Center

Power Line Resources: Who To Call In Case of a Power Outage or Safety Hazard with a Power Line

In Texas, severe weather is like a frequent visitor, and somehow we can’t get used to it. One thing is for sure, we can’t control mother nature, so it’s important to stay informed on who to call in case of any electricity outages or issues with power lines. So, who do we call and why?

Understanding who is responsible for what in Texas electricity can be quite confusing, so we’re here to help.

What is a Transmission and Distribution Service Provider?

Transmission and Distribution Service Provider (TDSP) according to ERCOT, own / operate, for compensation, the equipment/facilities to transmit and/or distribute electricity in Texas. TDSPs are regulated by the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT) and are required to provide non-discriminatory access to the grid.

What are the TDSPs in Texas and what areas are they in charge of?

Oncor serves Addison, Corsicana, Chandler, Dallas, Denison, Denton, Diboll, Fort Worth, Midland, Odessa, Palestine, Paris, Plano, Tyler, and Wichita Falls.

CenterPoint Energy serves: Angleton, Alvin, Cypress, Galveston, Houston, Pasadena and Richmond.

AEP Central serves: Corpus Christi, Laredo, McAllen, San Benito and Victoria.

AEP North serves: Abilene, Alpine, San Angelo and Vernon.

TNMP (Texas-New Mexico Power) serves The Gulf Coast cities of Angleton, Brazoria, West Columbia, Sweeny, Alvin, Friendswood, Dickinson, League City, La Marque, and Texas City. The northern and central cities of Detroit, Bogata, Emory, Whitewright, Leonard, Farmersville, Pilot Point, Princeton, Lewisville, Nocona, Petrolia, Olney, Bryson, Strawn, Glen Rose, Hico, Hamilton, Meridian, Clifton, Whitney, Valley Mills, and Gatesville. The western cities of Kermit, Pecos, Fort Stockton, and Sanderson

For TDSP phone numbers visit our website.